Happy 2-1!

25Aug11

Nope, I’m not 21 yet, but my fam bam is. Happy anniversary, Mom & Dad! 🙂

I started the day off with the usual post-run smoothie.

kale, banana, soymilk, almond butter, cacao powder & dates.

As a runner, the importance iron has always been pushed on me. However, I’d MUCH rather get my iron from chocolate goodness than a steak. Who’s with me on that?

I love Trader Joe’s. So. much.

After breakfast, I snuck off to the Ferry Building to pick up some Pepples Donuts. Donuts may not traditionally a very celebratory dessert, but going to Krispy Kreme, getting those dorky paper hats and getting fresh, hot donuts sticks out in my memories of family outings so why not replace that with some organic, vegan donuts made right in the Bay Area?! I got 4 wrapped up to bring the family for later: chocolate coconut, lemon poppyseed, orange creamsicle and vanilla.

I’d forgotten that the farmer’s market is also on Thursdays there so naturally, I HAD to grab something there for lunch. After walking all over the inside and out of the building, I tried a blackberry pie soda from SodaCraft. I loved that I actually tasted fruit, unlike in the orange soda I so loved back in the day. Yup, I was Kel status. I’m not sure why I was so obsessed; I never had much of a sweet tooth growing up but orange soda was a whole different deal. And when I could, sneaking a Mountaindew made me feel pretty bada$$. Nowadays, no beverage has been able to beat Synergy kombucha.

Anyways, to go with my soda, I went with eggplant Onigilly. The nice, big VEGAN label on the menu caught my eye. It was good, but TINY. Now I know why the person in front of me in line bought 3…Still, it was pretty tasty. Like a new twist on sushi.

That didn’t exactly fill me up so back home, I had some snackage. I think the only person in the world who loves hummus more than me might be my favorite hippie and major blogging inspiration.

So so good.

Finally it was dinner time. My mom told me to pick a place since I’m hardly ever home. I, of course, jumped at another chance to showcase vegan foods! I settled on Gracias Madre.

Yup. A 100% vegan Mexican restaurant.

Being there reminded me of going to Mexican restaurants with aunts, uncles and cousins back in the day.

My brother and I both ordered the nopales (cactus) which came with beans, rice, pico de gallo & plenty of tortillas.

My dad’s pozole and hongos al ajo:

My mom’s (slightly blurry) tamal:

And of course, guac.

This may have just become my favorite restaurant. All the nostalgia of flavors I grew up eating in a Hispanic household made vegan! A win-win.

Plus, I ended up with leftovers for my lunch tomorrow! & because I’ll be eating at home, I won’t feel like as much of a slob when I mix everything together just like when I was a kid. 😉

It would not have been a night in the Mission without a trip to Ritual Coffee. I got Peppermint Rose tea while the rest of the family had lattes.

And finally, THE donuts!

My lemon poppyseed one was SO. GOOD. Cakey, lemony. All kinds of -y. 🙂

Night world! Are there any old favorite dishes from childhood you’ve been able to make or find healthier versions of?

2 Responses to “Happy 2-1!”

  1. Everything in this post looks and sounds amazing! I can’t believe I never made my way over to Gracias Madre. I will definitely have to make a trip back up north to try that out!


Leave a Reply

