The Apple of My Eye

20Sep11

After the usual yoga bonding with Jillian + hour fartlek, it was time for breakfast and to do some serious let-me-into-your-class groveling.

I was quite excited because I had found something yesterday…

(Also, note the HOT PLATE in the background. Score one for the good guys! I’ve only met one of my roomies so far and she is adorable, but this has made an appearance on our counter so you can bet I’ll be asking for use of that.)

Anyways, finding oats meant I got to make overnight oats last night! 1 part oats, 2 parts milk blend, spoonful off my lovely almond mush gettin’ happy together in the fridge overnight.

I normally don’t use quick cooking oats or, as they call them here, white oats, but they were all they had. It was yummy just a little soggier than normal. And I’m a soggy cereal lover so that was fine by me! Check out that real bowl action!

Then, it was to Starbucks to wrestle with the registration system over a soy latte.

I had received 2 rejections to be added in to classes but sent more out and, as of tonight, I finally have all 5 classes! Victory never tasted so good. Now, I just need Emory’s ok and I am set. YES.

After chillin’ a bit longer and people watching all the Turkish Starbucks lovers, I headed back to school, made lunch

and set off to wander. I’d been trying to map out all the places I want to see, but I’m still so lost in this transportation system and map reading so I decided to go walk around Cihangir and see what I found.

I totally am in love with this part of the city. Lots of cafes, tiny streets and a yoga studio. Awesomeness.

And then I wandered out of the area and hit

I’d only been trying to figure out how the heck to get there last night! I swear this city is lucky!!

I was happy as could be walking through Istanbul Modern. The 12th Biennial was going on and a lot of the exhibits revolved around Felix Gonzalez-Torres meaning I could read a lot of the Spanish stuff! They also had a lot of Middle Eastern and American art all in line with his thinking that art can be a catalyst for change. Sweet, huh? It was all pretty powerful stuff with a heavy focus on war, gun control and violence. Especially powerful considering today’s news. Here’s a taste of what I saw:

My Mama’s homeland.

After soaking in all that art and thanking my lucky stars, the rest of the afternoon tasted like sweet victory. Which, if you were wondering, tastes just like another apple from my stash. It was the happiest apple of my life  – “You are really good. I mean, you’re like, a hundred thousand times better than like any apple I’ve ever had. I’m not Superman, I’m Supertramp and you’re super apple. You’re so tasty, you’re so organic, so natural. You are the apple of my eye, ha!” (Mega points if you know what that’s from.) I wandered over a bridge and found where the ferries leave from and this

Will most definitely be heading back to check it out.

On the way back, I passed by Bayla so I naturally got a huge stash of their amazing ‘fu to keep me happy for awhile into the semester. 😉

For dinner I hit up Salad Station.

It was pretty cool. You walk in, choose a bowl of whatever greens you like and then get 4 free toppings. All for 7.50 TL. I’m officially a fan.

Mixed greens + carrots, corn, chickpeas, raisins and raspberry vinaigrette. Noms.

Moral of the day? If you take a chance and get your nose away from your guidebooks, schedules and general stressin’ once in a while, the bare necessities of life will come to you. Those necessities being art, salad and loads of ‘fu, obviously. 😉

8 Responses to “The Apple of My Eye”

  1. hey! just found your blog! i’m following u on twitter! 😉
    Love it!! especially the title shedonteatnomeat !!

  2. 3 Sue

    you canNOT find that tofu here in the states apparently! (i checked). you might have discovered a rare gem, cass.

    • 4 cassandrantonia

      I’m smuggling us back a box somehow. It needs to be with me always.

  3. 5 alizeh

    knew you’d love cihanghir! its so turkish hipster. glad its treating you and your tummy well. 🙂

  4. Try Ev Kahvaltı in Cihangir….it’s the BEST!
    also, i can’t believe you are running in Istanbul aka wearing shorts and enduring all the stares! glad you found bebek though. and was the food court/grocery store at Akmerkez? bc that is the nicest grocery store EVER. also there is a pet store on the bottom of the mall. goshhhhhh im so jealous of you!!!

  5. Let me know if you are going to the Modern again… I will put you in touch w my contact there! She is super wonderful 🙂


Leave a Reply

