Moby

05Dec11

I ❤ Moby.

In this video, he’s admirably logical and understanding. I feel sometimes that people expect me to be an “angry vegan” and demand that my food be kept safely in a bubble away from possible animal contaminants.

Or that I will yell at them regarding the animal products in their shoes, their hair products, their make-up.

Or that I will sit at the dinner table and rant about the abuses of animals.

But really, I’m still adjusting, still learning, still slowly weeding out the animal products in my closet and medicine cabinet because it just doesn’t sit right with me anymore to use them.

Still trying to understand how to decipher scientific-sounding food labels when, in a pinch, I grab something that comes in a wrapper.

And I know that launching into a preachy sermon on health, the environment and animals won’t help anyone.

In fact, I know it will probably hurt the cause as people put up their defensive walls and start singing “la la la” so they can’t hear me.

But leading by example and sharing my random thoughts with those of you curious enough to look through this blog is just enough for me.

2 Responses to “Moby”

  1. 1 Carol

    Hi,
    I’m friends with your Aunt Fely and have been a vegetarian for 20 years and a vegan for 2 years — you’re absolutely right — preaching is a turn-off, no matter how right you are (and you’re oh-so right!) but leading by example is the way to go. Let’s hope that the carnivores start evolving and becoming more compassionate and empathetic to the plight of food animals. Keep up the great example!


Leave a Reply

