So Spicy

17Dec11

Today, I ended up passing by the Spice Bazaar again and so headed through to get some of the teas I had passed on last night.

Being the skillful shopper I am, I headed towards the outside booths since they tend to be a bit cheaper.

I returned to a stall my friend and I had stopped at last night and the guys working immediately launched into the usual Turkish salesman routine of celebrating the return of their “favorite customer” singing praises of every word I said.

If you are ever in need of a self-esteem boost, I suggest shopping in Istanbul. Remember Sammy?

After I decided on my teas, they kept me chatting and pushed free sample after free sample into my hands eventually inviting me to one of their birthday parties that night.

Though I declined, they proceeded to ask my age.

When I responded, “20,” their eyes all doubled in size and they looked at each other baffled.

“Really?!”

“I was thinking 15…no 14.”

So I was a better partying prospect when they thought I was a good 10 years younger than them?

Lovely. Yet another awkward situation brought to you by my perpetual baby-face.

One did still offer to show me Istanbul at night after he got off work.

He said he really wanted to “practice his English.”

Is that what the kids are calling it these days?

He also kept trying to offer me a free sample of this little gem found at most of the booths in the bazaar.

Interestingly enough, though the label is in 4 languages, the Spanish version is the most comprehensive.

“Es una mezclade 31 tipos de espacias. Si toma esto, puedes hacer el amor 5 veces en una noche.”

It seems less obscene if I just leave it to you to put in Google Translate.

Already having had this particular jar forced upon me by a short little salesman yesterday who kept talking about how “us” short people are the most beautiful and need to stick together, I declined the oh-so tempting offer and carried on content with my jasmine tea.

9 Responses to “So Spicy”

  1. 1 Danielle

    Hahahaha… I thought that was a little bird on the label for a good 30 seconds until I read the phrase in Spanish. That’s too funny. 😉 And kind of gross. But mostly funny.

  2. that picture wasn’t taken in a bazaar. how many bottles did you buy?


  1. 1 Last Night | She Don't Eat No Meat

Leave a Reply

