5 Friday Things

23Dec11

1. Sorry I have been slacking lately. So much to see. So much to do. So little excitement in the culinary department.

2. Wednesday, my friend and I were on the bus talking when all of a sudden the bus driver turned and screamed, “MADAME! LÜTFEN!” and then proceeded to mockingly make talking mouths with his hands and shout Turkish obscenities. Dumbfounded, we waited a few minutes before continuing our conversation in a lower volume. Seconds later, again, “MADAME! LÜTFEN!” Not one person helped us out. And our one bus “friend” who had approached my friend when we’d gotten on and said, “Excuse me? Sir? Are all the people in your country so tall?” had already exited the bus.

*Note how all the anger was directed at me and not the tall white man though we were both talking. There is no justice in this world.

3. I have 15 days left in Istanbul.

I can’t handle it.

4. But I am excited to be reunited with a real kitchen and utensils beyond a broken knife.

5. Have a Merry Christmas!

No Responses Yet to “5 Friday Things”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

