Pizza Kid

30Jan12

For some unexplainable reason, one Halloween memory that stands out visibly in my mind was an afternoon carving pumpkins in our backyard with my brother.

I have no recollection of what I carved into my pumpkin that particular year.

(Though I can assure you it was probably far better in thought than execution.)

But, I do remember what I snacked on that sunny October afternoon.

My mom used to make it for me all the time during my frizzy-haired, gap-toothed awkward years.

(As if my awkward years have ended.)

It was simple – a piece of sandwich bread slathered with some tomato sauce, sprinkled with mozzarella, and then popped in the toaster oven just long enough to get the cheese melted.

It was like pizza, except, in my refined elementary-school aged opinion, much better.

Better because barely five minutes ever stood between, “Hey, Mom…” and shoving it into my mouth.

As a college student, I once again value something simple and quick so tonight, I jazzed up and veganized my old standby.

This picture isn’t great, but I can assure you that gluten-free bread, roasted eggplant I made this morning, briefly water-sauteed spinach, warmed tomato sauce, and, of course, a generous sprinkling of Daiya was beyond great.

Because I felt nostalgic, I will admit that I ate off the eggplant and spinach and enjoyed my saucy, cheesy bread just like I used to.

You’ve got to indulge your inner child, right?

5 Responses to “Pizza Kid”

  1. Mmmm that sounds so amazing!

  2. this is starting to get scary


Leave a Reply

