Unless

03Mar12

I’m a day behind in writing this, but yesterday was Dr. Seuss’s birthday.

My childhood was filled with his colorful, quirky books.

Books that I have stumbled back upon in more recent years and discovered the lessons woven in what I had always assumed were just goofy pictures and silly little rhymes and made-up words.

My favorite Dr. Seuss book is The Lorax. I love it so much that, in seventh grade, when my teacher challenged my class to write two extra stanzas adding to the story, I went off and cranked out twenty-five.

Twenty-five rhyming stanzas delving deeper into the Lorax’s journey.

Twenty-five stanzas of deeper thought and discovery.

Twenty-five stanzas I handed in beaming with pride.

Still, my favorite line will always be one of the original,

It seems appropriate now with the direction my life is going.

People are often surprised to learn that I’ve been vegan for less than a year.

It’s become an identifying trait, a lifestyle, a passion, a mission.

I am, “That vegan chick.” And proudly so.

It is something that, one would assume, would take years to become so focused on.

Instead very social media platform I’m on is littered with articles, pictures, and recipes.

Nearly every day, I’m talking about it, writing about it, reading about it.

Perhaps to some, it gets annoying.

I’m sure I have earned myself a few hides on newsfeeds and some defriends and unfollows.

I have friends that roll their eyes at my “hippie food.”

Friends that think I have snapped.

Friends that frown at me as they eat vegan cookies, loving their taste and hating me for being right.

But, I keep at it because I truly, deeply care.

And because sharing is caring and vice versa.

I don’t think that I’m better than someone who loves cow’s milk ice cream and hot dogs. They are part of our upbringing, the norm, the usual.

However, my life has changed so much for the better this past almost-year and what has been the norm throughout history, as we all know, has not always been the most kind, logical, or right.

My relationship with food has become one filled with more enjoyment and love than I can ever remember having in my life.

I have found something that I feel “called,” as they say, to do.

I feel healthier, stronger, and more at peace with my physical appearance.

This lifestyle has given me so much, so much that I want to pass on to everyone.

Thank you, Dr. Seuss, for the inspiration to keep going no matter how crazy, ridiculous, or weird it seems.

Thank you.

No Responses Yet to “Unless”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

